MMA Odds and Ends for Tuesday: Kimbo Slice settles with Texas Commission, Nick Hein out of UFC Fight Night 87 with injury

Following failed PED test ‘Kimbo Slice’ settles with Texas commission  On Monday ‘Kimbo Slice’ settled with the Texas athletic commission on a $2,500 fine and the revocation of his fight licence in the state. Slice (6-2) is coming off a third round TKO victory over Dhafir “Dada 5000” Harris. After that fight, the TUF Heavyweights alum tested positive for anabolic steroid nandrolone. Slice is set to take on James Thompson (20-16) at Bellator 158 at The O2 areana in London. Due to the fact that the event is taking place overseas, International Sport Karate Association (ISKA) will serve as the regulator for all drug testing.   Nick Hein out of UFC Fight Night 87 with injury, Jon Tuck in search of opponent MMAJunkie reports lightweight Nick Hein has been forced to withdraw from Sundays UFC Fight Night 87 event due to injury. UFC officials are in the process of finding a short notice replacement for his opponent Jon Tuck. Here’s an updated look at Sundays card with the injury news. Main Card: (FOX Sports) – Alistair Overeem (40-14) vs. Andrei Arlovski (25-11) – Stefan Struve (26-8) vs. Antonio Silva (19-8) – Gunnar Nelson (14-2-1) vs. Albert Tumenov (17-2) – Anna Elmose (3-0) vs. Germaine de Randamie (5-3) – Francimar Barroso (18-4) vs. Nikita Krylov (19-4) – Karolina Kowalkiewicz (8-0) vs. Heather Jo Clark (7-4) Preliminary Card: (FOX Sports 1) – Rustam Khabilov (18-3) vs. Chris Wade (11-0) – Magnus Cedenblad (13-4) vs. Garreth McLellan (13-3) – Jon Tuck (9-2) vs. TBA – Yan Cabral (12-2) vs. Reza Madadi (13-4) Preliminary Card: (UFC Fight Pass) – Kyoji Horiguchi (16-2) vs. Neil Seery (16-11) – Dominic Waters (9-4) vs. Leon Edwards (10-3) – Ulka Sasaki (18-3-2) vs. Willie Gates (12-6)   Kamaru Usman injured, Luan Chagas faces Sergio Moraes at UFC 198  Combate reported Monday that TUF 21 winner Kamaru Usman has withdrawn from his UFC 198 bout due to an undisclosed injury. Instead UFC newcomer Luan Chagas takes his place against Sergio Moraes. Chagas (14-1) heads into this matchup on a nine-fight winning streak and has yet to see the judges scorecards in his 15-fight career. Moraes (10-2) has won four-straight fights and is coming off a TKO victory over Omari Akhmedov at UFC Fight Night 80. UFC 198 takes place May 14 at Arena da Baixada in Curitiba, Parana, Brazil. Here’s an updated look at the card. Fabricio Werdum (c) vs. Stipe Miocic – for heavyweight title Vitor Belfort vs. Ronaldo Souza Uriah Hall vs. Anderson Silva Cristiane Justino vs. Leslie Smith Corey Anderson vs. Mauricio Rua Matt Brown vs. Demian Maia Warlley Alves vs. Bryan Barberena Nate Marquardt vs. Thiago “Marreta” Santos Rob Font vs. John Lineker Patrick Cummins vs. Antonio Rogerio Nogueira Yancy Medeiros vs. Francisco Trinaldo Luan Chagas vs. Sergio Moraes Renato Moicano vs. Zubaira Tukhugov   July’s UFC Fight Night 90 adds more matchups, including Mike Pyle vs. Alberto Mina UFC  officials recently announced four new matchups Monday, most notably a welterweight fight between veteran Mike Pyle and Alberto Mina. Pyle (27-11-1) is coming off a big win over Sean Spencer which earned him “Fight of the Night honours”  and subsequently snapped a two fight losing streak. Mina (12-0) has won back to back fights in the UFC against Shinsho Anzai and Yoshihiro Akiyama. Also added to the card welterweights Alvaro Herrera (9-3) vs. Vicente Luque (8-5-1), lightweights Gilbert Burns (11-1) vs. Lukasz Sajewski (13-1), and bantamweights Reginaldo Vieira (13-3) vs. Marco Beltran (7-3) UFC Fight Night 90 takes place July 7 at MGM Grand Garden Arena in Las Vegas. Here’s an updated look at the card. Rafael dos Anjos (c) vs. Eddie Alvarez – for lightweight title Mitch Clarke vs. Joseph Duffy Derrick Lewis vs. Roy Nelson Anthony Birchak vs. Dileno Lopes Alan Jouban vs. Nordine Taleb Mehdi Baghdad vs. John Makdessi Alberto Mina vs. Mike Pyle Alvaro Herrera vs. Vicente Luque Gilbert Burns vs. Lukasz Sajewski Marco Beltran vs. Reginaldo Vieira   CES lightweight champion Luis Felix defends title against Ryan Sanders at CES MMA 36 The much anticipated rematch between Luis Felix and Ryan Sanders will take place on June 10th. Felix (14-9) fought Sanders back in January at CES MMA 33 in a short notice catchweight bout where his lightweight title was not on the line. Sanders won by second round submission, so it only made sense to have the rematch. Sanders (10-7) has won three-straight fights and hasn’t been stopped in a fight since a 2013 loss to Michael Page. He’s coming off the submission win over Felix and when I spoke to him back in January, he wasn’t sure if the rematch would happen. CES MMA 36 takes place June 10th, live on AXS TV at Twin River Casino in Lincoln, R.I.   Raoni Barcelos vs. Bobby Moffett headlines RFA 39 MMAJunkie reports that Raoni Barcelos defends his featherweight title on June 17th when he meets Bobby Moffett. Barcelos (9-1) is coming off a unanimous decision victory over Ricky Musgrave at RFA 29 this past August where he captured the promotions featherweight title. He heads into this matchup off back-to-back victories. Moffett (8-1) heads into this matchup off a submission victory over Caleb Williams at at Hoosier Fight Club 27. The 25-year old will be making his second appearance for RFA. RFA 39 takes place June 17 at Hammond Civic Center in Hammond, Ind and airs live on AXS TV.   Manny Vazquez vs. Steven Peterson headline Legacy FC 56 June 24 in Dallas Newly crowned Legacy FC bantamweight champion Manny Vazquez defends his title for the first time against Steven Peterson at Legacy FC 56. Vazquez (8-1) defeated Ricardo Ramos in the first round at Legacy FC 51 in Feburary to capture the title. Peterson (13-4) heads into this matchup on a four-fight win streak including three-finishes. Legacy FC 56 takes place place June 24 at The Bomb Factory in Dallas. Here’s an updated look at the card. MAIN CARD (AXS TV, 10 p.m. ET) Manuel Vazquez vs. Steven Peterson Ryan Hollis vs. Jason Sampson Edwin Figueroa vs. Levi Mowles Geoffrey Neal vs. Andrew Parker J.C. Cottrell vs. Cody Walker Miles Johns vs. Eliazar Rodriguez PRELIMINARY CARD (Unaired) Sean Holden vs. Bilal Williams Joshua Mosquea vs. Jessie Vasquez Matthew Alonzo vs. Jason Perrotta

Written by James Lynch

Leave a Reply

UFC Flyweight Champion Demetrious Johnson: ‘I didn’t even get hit once’

UFC Fight Night 87 Newcomer Breakdown: Anna Elmose